St. Lukes College and Chapel External Refurbishment
The original St Luke’s Chapel at the St Luke’s campus on Heavitree Road dated back to 1863. However, that building was destroyed in the bombing raids on Exeter in 1942 and the one you see today was rebuilt in the original architectural style and rededicated in 1952. Using appropriate traditional materials, including lime mortars and lead work, we carried out internal and external works, including roof and stonework repairs on this lovely chapel.
The stonework had in the past been repointed with an unsympathetic cement based mortar which was exacerbating water ingress inssues. The project also included stonework repairs where needed and cast iron rainwater goods decorations.
Arque were chosen because of their expertise at working on listed buildings and their particular knowlege and experience with stonework.
The removal of the hard joints at times was very noisy. Arque used several methods to deduce the disruption, such as working out of hours, and using hand tools instead of power tools. The building was constantly in use while these works were ongoing, therefore it was a priority to reduce disruption and be mindful of the building's users.